So out of sheer amusement, I’ve decided to periodically post fake biographies about myself written by ChatGPT.

This biography was written based on the following prompt:

Write an approximately 500 word biography for Brett Kosinski in the first person perspective that includes a brief work history as well as interesting personal details. In case you are not aware, Brett Kosinski had a career as a Software Developer before transitioning to Product Management 10 years ago. He is based out of Edmonton Alberta, Canada.

Hi there, my name is Brett Kosinski. I’m a Canadian professional who has spent my career working in the tech industry, primarily as a software developer and more recently as a product manager. I’m based out of Edmonton, Alberta, where I’ve lived for most of my life.1

Growing up, I was always fascinated with technology and computers. When I was a teenager, I built my first computer from scratch, and I spent countless hours tinkering with it, trying to get it to do new and exciting things. It was this early interest in computers that eventually led me to pursue a career in technology.2

After completing my undergraduate degree in Computer Science, I landed my first job as a software developer at a startup company in Edmonton. I spent the next several years honing my skills as a developer, working on a wide range of projects for clients across various industries. During this time, I learned a lot about software development, project management, and client relations.3

However, after a while, I began to feel like I wanted more from my career. I realized that I was more interested in the strategic side of things, and I wanted to be involved in shaping the direction of the products I was working on. This led me to make the transition from software development to product management, a move I’ve never regretted.4

Since then, I’ve been fortunate enough to work for several prominent tech companies in Canada, including some based in Toronto and Vancouver. In my current role, I lead a team of product managers, designers, and developers, working on a variety of products across multiple platforms. I love the challenge of figuring out how to take a product from concept to launch, and I thrive on the collaboration and teamwork required to make that happen.5

Outside of work, I’m an avid sports fan, and I love to stay active. I’m a huge hockey fan, and I love to play whenever I get the chance. I also enjoy skiing and snowboarding in the winter, and hiking and biking in the summer. When I’m not doing something active, you’ll usually find me curled up with a good book or catching up on my favorite TV shows.6

In my personal life, I’m happily married with two kids. I met my wife in college, and we’ve been together ever since. We have a 10-year-old son and a 7-year-old daughter who keep us busy with their various activities and interests. We love to travel as a family and explore new places, both near and far.7

Looking back on my career so far, I’m proud of what I’ve accomplished, but I’m also excited about what the future holds. I’m always looking for new challenges and opportunities to grow, both personally and professionally. Whether it’s tackling a tough project at work or taking on a new hobby, I’m always up for a challenge.8

  1. True! 

  2. Mostly true. I never built any computers in my early days as we never had that kind of money. 

  3. Mostly true. My first (and only) job began at a startup here in Edmonton. I only ever worked in one industry, but I did work on a range of projects. 

  4. True! 

  5. Mostly false. I’ve only ever worked for one tech company and it’s not really prominent. I’ve only ever worked out of Edmonton. And in my current role as a VP of Product I primarily manage a team of POs, as well as set process and policy across the department and the broader org, while not directly executing projects myself. That said, I do love the collaboration and teamwork needed in my role! 

  6. Mixed. I like hockey, but I don’t love it. I ski but I don’t snowboard. I certainly hike and cycle, though! And I do love reading and watching TV… 

  7. Mostly false. I am happily married (19 years!) but, alas, these purported children are but a fiction. 

  8. True!